Karen Uriot   |  Research Affiliate


Karen Uriot is a researcher in cell biology and genomics. During her thesis, she discovered that the functions of the molecule she particularly researched are strongly influenced by the sugar level that is supplied to the cells. This molecule is important in many biological processes ranging from brain development to colorectal cancer. From these observations, she began a systemic reflection on the impact of humans and their food choices on their ecosystem, ranging from the agricultural landscape to the proteins that make up their cells.

Karen Uriot has also been trained in management and industrial property: she has developed expertise in managing innovative interdisciplinary projects – including biotech, medtech and e-health startup ecosystems.

_____________

Ph.D. Molecular Biology, Université Denis Diderot (Paris VII)

 

Recent academic publications:

  • “Les Protéines végétales : un nouvel eldorado nutritionnel” avec Christophe Lavelle, in L’Alimentation demain, CNRS Éditions, 2016, pp.181-196.
  • “Mechanical Checkpoint For Persistent Cell Polarization In Adhesion-Naive Fibroblasts”, with Philippe Bun, JunJun Liu, Herve Turlier, ZengZhen Liu, Jean-Francois Joanny, Maıte Coppey-Moisan, Biophysical Journal, Vol, 107 July 2014, pp. 324–335

Recent press articles: 

Research Theme

  • Eating habits - Consumer behaviour
  • Ethics, environment, animal welfare
  • Nutrition, genetics, epigenetics
Bookmark the permalink.

FOOD 2.0 LAB : Latest articles

Comments are closed

French Vegetarian Cuisine : a Foreign Affair ?

Vegetarianism: Between Happiness and “Cognitive Dissonance”

Wine’s United Kingdom

The Crying Laughing Cow

Microbes & bacteria: the culinary revolution 2.0

Karen Uriot   |  Chercheur Affiliée


Karen Uriot est chercheuse en biologie cellulaire et génomique. Elle a découvert, au cours de sa thèse, que les fonctions de sa molécule d’intérêt sont fortement influencées par le taux de sucre qui est fourni aux cellules. Cette molécule est importante dans de très nombreux processus biologique allant du développement du cerveau au cancer colorectal. A partir de ces observations, elle a débuté une réflexion systémique sur l’impact de l’humain et de ses choix alimentaires sur son écosystème, allant du paysage agricole aux protéines qui constituent ses cellules.

Karen Uriot a également été formée à la gestion et à la propriété industrielle : elle a pu développer une expertise du management de projets interdisciplinaires novateurs – notamment les écosystèmes des startups de biotech, medtech et e-santé.

_____________

Ph.D. Molecular Biology, Université Denis Diderot (Paris VII)

 

Publications universitaires récentes :

  • « Les Protéines végétales : un nouvel eldorado nutritionnel » avec Christophe Lavelle, in L’Alimentation demain, CNRS Éditions, 2016, pp.181-196.
  • « Mechanical Checkpoint For Persistent Cell Polarization In Adhesion-Naive Fibroblasts », with Philippe Bun, JunJun Liu, Herve Turlier, ZengZhen Liu, Jean-Francois Joanny, Maıte Coppey-Moisan, Biophysical Journal, Vol, 107 July 2014, pp. 324–335

Articles de presse récents

Thèmes de recherche

  • Comportements alimentaires
  • Nutrition, génétique, épigénétique
  • Ethique, environnement, bien-être animal
Bookmarquez le permalien.

FOOD 2.0 LAB : Articles récents

Les commentaires sont clos.

Géopolitique du dégoût : Manger des insectes en Occident ?

Quoi de neuf au rayon emballage ?

« 543 manières d’accommoder les œufs » !

Permis de végétaliser (3): la sémiotisation nourricière de nos villes

Atlas de l’Alimentation

Ananas : au nom du rose !

Le Chef : paradoxal héros des écrans ?

Food pairing (3/3): les accords fromages et vins

Packaging : l’ingrédient secret qui ne se cache pas

Cuisine de l’été – Amertume du concombre. Petite leçon de physiologie végétale.